Chair of the Forest Practices Board Appointed to Second Term

The Chair of the Forest Practices Board, Keith Moore, was re-appointed by the government on December 18, 1997. Moore is a forester and a former consultant in forest land management and environmental assessment. He is a long time resident of the Queen Charlotte Islands and is the original chair of the Board, which was established under the Forest Practices Code in 1995. His term was extended for a two year period, effective January 1, 1998.

“I am very pleased to be able to continue on as Chair of the Forest Practices Board.” said Moore. “My first three years were spent getting the Board established and operating and now we are beginning to produce some substantial results in our audits, investigations, and other work.”

Moore is the full time Chair while five part-time members round out the Board. Vice-chair, Cindy Pearce, of Revelstoke, and Jack Toovey of North Vancouver are also founding members of the Board, while John Cuthbert of Summerland, Frances Vyse of Kamloops and Klaus Offermann of Nelson were all appointed to the Board in 1997.

The Forest Practices Board is an independent agency, established in 1995, that provides reports to the public and government about compliance with the Forest Practices Code and the achievement of its intent. The Board’s main roles are: auditing forest practices; investigating public complaints; undertaking special investigations of any Code related forestry issues; participating in administrative reviews and appeals; and providing reports to the public and government on Board activities, findings and recommendations.

Forest Practices Board
Phone: (250) 387-7964

January 22, 1998